It’s a bright, bright, sunshiney (award) day

http://mysilverlininghome.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/sunshine-award.png

Things have been pretty quiet around here lately, which makes this a perfect time to write about sunshine awards! I feel incredibly touched to have been nominated by two fellow bloggers, Alexis at My Silver Lining, and Amber at Amber Under Construction. Both of these ladies write very thoughtfully about their experiences with miscarriage, and I always enjoy reading their posts. They are both great at something I should try much harder at, seeing the positive side of things. Which is why I’m especially touched that they nominated me. I think I usually tend to fall on the bitter rather than sunshine-y side of the infertility spectrum, although I’m working on it :).

So, without further ado, here’s the deal with the Sunshine Award:

  • Include the Sunshine Award icon in your post (check).
  • Link the blogger who nominated you (double-check).
  • Answer 10 questions about yourself (yup, see below).
  • Nominate 10 other bloggers to receive the award (will do).
  • Link to your nominees and let them know you nominated them (looking forward to it!).

Alexis’s Questions:

1) Who or what inspires you?

My parents. They are both (for different reasons) amazing role models. They are selfless, generous, strong, and amazingly hard working. I think I have some of their good qualities, but I hope with time I can become more like them.

2) What did you want to be when you grew up? How close did you get?

An actress, preferably on Broadway. I took dance classes, voice lessons, and acting classes for years, and I did lots of theater in and outside of school, and I even considered going to one of those high schools for the arts, like on Fame. I think I was pretty good at the acting part, but Broadway was definitely never going to happen :).

3) Best vacation and dream vacation (if you haven’t already been)?

Oh man, this one is super hard. The first thing that comes to mind for best vacation is the trip to Europe G and I took in May. It was amazing, but honestly every trip G and I take together is pretty awesome. We’re perfect travel buddies because we like doing the same things (i.e., not museums or shopping :)), and wherever we go we just like to wander around on foot and explore.

4) Favorite food you get at the fair?

I’m going to buck the trend of ‘deep-fried everything’ and say corn on the cobb. It’s always roasted to perfection and epitomizes the fair to me.

5) What’s your Silver Lining for the day?

This is something I need to spend more time focusing on. I have SO many things to be appreciative of, but instead I tend to whine and complain about the crappy things. My silver linings include my AMAZING husband, who could not be more loving and supportive, the three cutest cats on the planet, and a job that I actually enjoy getting up and doing each day.

6) Favorite TV show??

Haha, I couldn’t possibly pick just one :). TV is my ‘one weakness’ (tehe, if you watch Lark Rise to Candleford you’ll get that reference). I love comedies like Parks and Rec and New Girl, but I think the two best shows out right now in terms of being just plain amazingly made are House of Cards and Homeland.

7) What US state or world capital would you like to visit?

Also tough to pick just one. We’re talking about going to DC to see the cherry blossoms this coming spring, so I’ll go with that for now!

8) What would you do if you could go back to being 18 years old?

Honestly, I would get my ass into therapy. I have social anxiety disorder, and I can’t imagine how much different my life would have been if I had started treating it way back then. The seeds of the disorder where there when I was a kid, and developed to some degree in high school, but it was in college that things really got totally out of control. I went into a depression and withdrew from everyone except G (we were long distance dating at the time). I had no idea the problem was social anxiety, and I didn’t figure that out and start getting treatment until about 4 years ago. My life has been very different since then, but I can’t help but wonder what my life would be like if I’d nipped it in the bud early on.

9) All time favorite movie and why??

I’m gonna go with Disney’s Alladin. I can sing the lyrics to just about every song from memory :).

10) Favorite dessert?

Man, how am I supposed to pick just one answer for these questions?? Let’s go with chocolate cake with chocolate icing. But really I have yet to meet a dessert I didn’t love.

Amber’s Questions:

  1. Why do you blog?

Well, initially I thought I would do it to have an outlet. I thought it might help me to work through my feelings and I felt like my friends and family had reached ‘sympathy fatigue’ with hearing about me and my problems. I think it still serves that purpose as well, but what has become far more important is the community. I never could have imagined finding the amount of support and understanding I’ve gotten from all of you, and reading your posts and comments is literally the best part of my day most days.

2. What is your favorite book?

Hands down, Jane Eyre.

3. What is your dream vacation?

Honestly, I want to travel just about everywhere. Whenever I go somewhere, the minute I get back I’m dreaming about the next place I’ll go. At the moment a beach vacation is sounding pretty appealing, maybe somewhere like Tahiti or Bora Bora.

4. What is your guilty pleasure?

See #6 above :).

5. If you could tell your teenage self one thing, what would it be?

It doesn’t have to be this hard. See #8 above.

6. What is your biggest fear?

Besides the obvious (I’ll never have a baby), definitely spiders. I have a very strong physical reaction to anything that even looks like a spider. I didn’t set foot into our detached garage/shed for the first 6 years we owned our house because I was afraid of spiders falling on my head from above. Lovable husband has cleaned it up done some de-bugging so I can now go in there to grab my bike and run back out.

7. What is your biggest dream?

Have to go with the obvious here. Having a baby.

8. What are you most proud of?

Finishing my PhD. It was definitely the hardest thing I’ve ever done, and I almost quit more times than I can count. I truly believed I couldn’t do it, it was just too damn hard and I wasn’t good enough or smart enough. But I pushed on and in the end my committee was very impressed with it.

9. What is your best piece of advice?

Nothing is permanent.

10. What makes you happy?

My kitties!  When I leave the house for even a few hours I actually look forward to coming home and seeing them :).

Here are my nominees! It’s hard to pick just 10 people because honestly I enjoy reading every single one of your blogs. I’m trying to pick people that weren’t just nominated by Amber or Alexis even though I love all of their nominees as well. These ladies all make me laugh hard and/or think hard.

BarrenBetty

Dogs Aren’t Kids

In Fertility Limbo

Just Another Infertility Blog

My Hope Jar

Rainbeforerainbow

Sweetest in the Gale

The Unexpected Trip

Yet Another Bitter Infertile

Young Yet Infertile

For your questions, I’m going to cheat a bit and re-use Amber’s questions. Here you go!

  1. Why do you blog?
  2. What is your favorite book?
  3.  What is your dream vacation?
  4. What is your guilty pleasure?
  5. If you could tell your teenage self one thing, what would it be?
  6. What is your biggest fear?
  7. What is your biggest dream?
  8. What are you most proud of?
  9. What is your best piece of advice?
  10. What makes you happy?

Can’t wait to hear all your answers!

4 thoughts on “It’s a bright, bright, sunshiney (award) day

Leave a Reply

