Remembrance Day

In case you haven’t already heard, today is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day. I’m apparently out of the loop, I didn’t realize until I read all of your beautiful posts today. 

Remembering can be extremely hard. I hate the thought of reliving the pain of my losses, so my first impulse is to push the sadness down and push forward with my regular anger. In a lot of ways it’s easier to be angry than sad. But, reading all of your touching posts today, I see the importance of remembering. Losing a pregnancy before anyone (or most people) are aware you’re pregnant is so isolating. We go through these losses with our husbands, and if we’re lucky a few close friends or family. But really, none of these well-meaning people truly understand what we’ve been through. We’re supposed to soldier on and get over it. We’re supposed to forget.

So, the way I see it, today is a chance for all of us to remember together. To pool our pain and feel a little less alone. To feel like our losses mattered to someone other than ourselves.

So tonight I’m thinking of all of you, and how much you’ve each survived. Your losses aren’t forgotten.

4 thoughts on “Remembrance Day

Leave a Reply

