BFN. Or is it??

Well I made it to Friday. And as expected the test was negative. G and I tested first thing this morning, and for the first time in quite a while, he was really upset with the negative. Not that he hasn’t been upset in the past, but he has a lot more patience than I do, so a month here or there is not as hard for him as it is for me. This time he admitted that he’s also getting really frustrated. It feels like an eternity since the last time I was pregnant. It has been an eternity really, 9 months if you don’t count the chemical pregnancies. Granted part of that time we were holding off trying, but I was only okay with that because I assumed it wouldn’t take a million years to get pregnant again.

That was a few hours ago. Since then, I’ve gone back into the bathroom to look at the stupid test again like 10 times. Does anyone else do this? I know your not supposed to read the test after 5 minutes because apparently you can get an evaporation line (what the hell is that anyway??). Well if they want me to not look at it again after 5 minutes then it would need to self-destruct, because I don’t have that kind of self-control. And the more I stare at the stupid thing, the more I’ve been able to convince myself that just maybe there is the faintest of faint lines there. G isn’t home anymore to try to convince me I’m crazy (which, let’s face it, I am), so my imagination is running away with me. There’s nothing I can do except wait until tomorrow. So here I am, back where I was yesterday. The waiting game. UGGGG, I’m just so sick of all of this!!

13 thoughts on “BFN. Or is it??

  1. Self destructing tests are a wonderful idea! I do the same thing, going back to the test, even though I know better. I’m so sorry about your negative. They suck, even when you expect them.

  2. Ugh, I had a suspicious test too, drove myself crazy analyzing it. Zoned out and stared at it for hours. I finally just ponied up for the Clear Blue digital ones, which were indeed positive. No misreading lines there.

    From what I hear from my obscenely fertile sisters, if there’s any doubt, it’s probably positive. But even if it isn’t this month, I have no doubt you’ll get one soon!

    • Thanks, I sure hope so. I actually had to go to walgreens for something else earlier, and stood in the pregnancy test section talking myself out of buying a more expensive test. I’ve done it in the past, but I just really hate that I can’t handle waiting a tiny bit longer. I mean, it’s just one or two more days before I’d get a convincing result. I should be able to handle that, right??

  3. I do the same thing but I will say that I never had a line appear unless I was actually pregnant. Every time I have gone back and looked at a negative test later there was never a line and I wasn’t pregnant. The times I have gone back to analyze a light or phantom line are the times I was actually pregnant.

  4. Yeah, I’ve definitely seen very faint lines before and its always been positive. If its there at all, this ‘line’ is even fainter than faint. It very well could just be my imagination :(. This is exactly why I shouldn’t test so early. I guess we’ll see in the next few days….

  5. I analyze like crazy! Look at it under every light possible….last pregnancy my test was neg at 9 dpo and I went back and faint line after ten min. Turned out to be my baby girl after my five miscarriages…I hope the same for you!

  6. I did the same thing. A month later it still has a line on it and I still look regularly. I was negative at first and after 20 minutes I saw the line. In hate that. Test again tomorrow.

  7. Ugh, the waiting. The worst day of the month is the day of the test. That is saying alot, b/c the days leading up to it can be pretty bad, too. Yes, I keep looking too. Even when it says,’Wait 3 minutes,’ I watch the whole time. I can tell in about 15 seconds if it is going to be a BFN. And that line always seems so dark, like an ‘in your face!’

Leave a Reply

